Management Team

Railinc is led by the following team of executives:

E. Allen West, President and CEOE. Allen West
President and Chief Executive Officer

Allen West is president and chief executive officer of Railinc Corp. Since his appointment in 2006, Railinc has become a leading technology organization serving the freight rail industry with a customer-focused culture, a progressive, results-oriented work force and leading technology infrastructure.

West has 25 years of experience in information technology and business management with leading companies in the transportation sector. Prior to joining Railinc, he was director of information technology for Sea-Land Service Inc., a subsidiary of CSX Inc. There he led technology teams in development of applications and business solutions for Sea-Land's global operations. He has also held key leadership positions within Tenneco Inc. and Norfolk Southern Corp.

West currently serves on the board of directors and is past chairman of the North Carolina Technology Association and on the Teradata Travel and Transportation Advisory Board. He is also a charter member of the IBM Global Rail Innovation Center advisory board. In 2012, West was named an industry "Executive to Know" by Supply & Demand Chain Executive magazine. He was named "Outstanding Business Partner" by the N.C. chapter of the Project Management Institute in 2009 for his contributions to the development of certified project management professionals. He has served on the board of RailPAC, a political advisory committee serving the freight rail industry. West is also a member of the National Association of Chief Executive Officers. He is an active supporter of the Food Bank of Central and Eastern North Carolina.

West holds a bachelor's of business administration degree in management of information systems from James Madison University and an MBA from Old Dominion University. He was honorably discharged from the U.S. Army.


Yates Parker
Vice President, Operations

Treadwell Davison
Vice President, Strategy and Central Services

Joan Smemoe
Chief Information Officer, Vice President

Steve Hinkson
Director, Corporate Communications

Chip Summey
Director, Asset Services

Patricia Sumrell
Director, Finance

Cathelene Thomas
Chief of Staff

Jerry Vaughn
Director, Interline Services